NSW Downturn - Inner v Outer Suburb Performance

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Ben P, 16th Jun, 2022.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Ben P

Ben P New Member

Newbie here, probably a dumb question but, the Finder website released a Property Investment Index recently, and it indicated that the suburbs in Sydney most likely to withstand the coming downturn were inner/middle ring suburbs, rather than outer suburbs. (at least in terms of houses).
    This seems to contrast substantially with what I know happened in the last downturn (late 2017 - mid 2019), when the outer suburbs hardly dropped and the inner/middle suburbs had some huge drops. I followed those results down to the suburb by suburb level.
    Who should I believe here? I'm looking to sell my outer suburb home and upgrade to a larger home in the middle ring, and I thought the downturn would put me at a relative advantage (not withstanding borrowing power from interest rate increases). Is it because the last downturn was triggered by both peak affordability and restrictions on loan margins, rather than by rises in interest rates?
    Pretty concerned.
    Cheers

Shawn6334 likes this.
  2. See Change

See Change Well-Known Member

It can be unpredictable .

My long term observation is that outer areas tend to go down more when you have a down turn . More likely to have people who don’t have much back up , financial competency and they get into trouble , so you’ll always get some who get into trouble .

Given that cheaper areas typically do go down more after a boom it means that percentage wise you can get a bigger percentage gain in cheaper areas than nice areas during the next boom .

On your plan , selling in a cheaper area and buying in a more expensive area for a PPOR makes perfect sense to me .

GFC hit the big end of town so Mosman had deals as did the places they had their weekenders .