Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community

Domain maps

Discussion in 'General Property Chat' started by Paterson00, 21st Jan, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Paterson00

    Paterson00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    19th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    193
    Location:
    Perth WA
    Has Domain removed the map facility for looking at properties by area rather than in a list or can I just not find it any more?
     
  2. Jennifer Duke

    Jennifer Duke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    23rd Oct, 2015
    Posts:
    286
    Location:
    NSW » Sydney

    Attached Files:

    • bris.png
      bris.png
      File size:
      249.8 KB
      Views:
      31
  3. Moych

    Moych Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    3rd Sep, 2015
    Posts:
    64
    Location:
    NSW
    Yeah I've noticed that too, below is what comes up after I search, and the list/map function is not available. It works on my phone though, but not my desktop.

    upload_2016-1-21_8-56-16.png
     
  4. Paterson00

    Paterson00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    19th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    193
    Location:
    Perth WA
    Mine is the same as yours. Just the featured box. Annoying as the Domain map is better than the Real Estate.com one as the RE.com takes you way back up very high when you exit a property back to the map so you have to zoom back down and down into your chosen area if you have deviated from your original search. Mine too is also fine on the phone. I need this back on my laptop so I can quickly flick between the tabs SOLD and RENT so I can see what rent demands are there for a given property I am researching. Hope I can get to the bottom of this.
     
  5. jprops

    jprops Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    24th Sep, 2015
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    Sydney
    From what I can tell, if you add "&displmap=1" to the url, it will switch to the map view. Looks like they've just hidden the map button for some reason?
     
    House, Fred and Paterson00 like this.
  6. Paterson00

    Paterson00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    19th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    193
    Location:
    Perth WA
    Thank you for that. It has worked a treat. Life is good again
     
  7. Jennifer Duke

    Jennifer Duke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    23rd Oct, 2015
    Posts:
    286
    Location:
    NSW » Sydney
    Can I ask what browsers you are using? I will mention it to our tech dept to see if it's a common problem. I never seem to get it!
     
    Paterson00 likes this.
  8. Paterson00

    Paterson00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    19th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    193
    Location:
    Perth WA
    I usually use Chrome and I have just checked to see if the same problem exists using Internet Explorer and that solves the issue although I would sooner see the Chrome thing rectified as that's my go to browser..
     
  9. Shoryuken

    Shoryuken Active Member

    Joined:
    26th Oct, 2015
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    Sydney
    I use the domain app, it's pretty good and has the map function
     
  10. Paterson00

    Paterson00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    19th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    193
    Location:
    Perth WA
    Yeah that works on my phone well to but i find it easier to switch between tabs to compare the rent to the sales prices in the area on a laptop.
     
  11. Shoryuken

    Shoryuken Active Member

    Joined:
    26th Oct, 2015
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    Sydney
    I do a similar thing too but use two devices. Usually the domain map search on the tablet and the rental searches on the phone. All this while the cricket's going on the TV. Sometime I throw in a laptop as well where I read property chat forum posts with other devices around me and the TV going on. Drives my wife insane! She insists I use only one device :D
     
    Paterson00 likes this.
  12. Paterson00

    Paterson00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    19th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    193
    Location:
    Perth WA
    One device. ..? No no no no no. .. they just wouldn't keep up at all. Too much flicking between searches etc to be able to do all that on one device.
     
    Shoryuken likes this.
  13. Fred

    Fred New Member

    Joined:
    30th Oct, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    SA
    Jennifer , today is 31/10/2016 and I am running Windows 10 and Firefox 49.0.2. and as like all the other's above the map feature definitely, is not available on or in Firefox, not even the option.

    Luckily " jprops is my hero" for his advice worked
    "From what I can tell, if you add "&displmap=1" to the url, it will switch to the map view. Looks like they've just hidden the map button for some reason?
    jprops, 25th Jan, 2016"


    If i use Chrome the problem is not there, and the map feature is available, and as soon as I go back to my Preferred Firefox, no map.
    Please unhide the map button or fix the issue in Firefox please.
    Regards. Keep up the good work.



     

    Attached Files:

    Perthguy likes this.
  14. zlatan9

    zlatan9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    30th Aug, 2016
    Posts:
    65
    Location:
    Brisbane
    lol - I actually stopped using Domain and started using realestate.com.au because I thought Domain had decided to remove the feature! I recently found out there is realestateview.com.au. I don't know why they keep coming up with these different search engines - they're basically all the same.
     
  15. Perthguy

    Perthguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    23rd Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    4,682
    Location:
    Perth
    Worked for me too. Waterfox 49.0.2
     
  16. jprops

    jprops Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    24th Sep, 2015
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    Sydney
    &displmap=1 doesn't work any more - it's now &displaymap=1
     
    Perthguy likes this.
  17. Big Will

    Big Will Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    1,546
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    real estate view is owned by the real estate institute (REIV, REIQ etc) as a lot of REA were not happy with the duopoloy of RE.Com and Domain... RE.com used to charge the most for the listings (not sure if this is still true). As they have the largest market share again not sure if this is still true.

    So they created review to take them on and keep advertising budgets down. If everyone jumped onto review then it would force decisions from re.com to lower their prices to remain competitive.

    Just to note I use RE.com more than domain and review.