Dipping toe into shares.

Discussion in 'Shares & Funds' started by John JS, 20th May, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. John JS

John JS Member

I have opened a share trading account with my bank but now I have no idea what to do. :(:D

There seems to be a lot of doom and gloom, I am 90% retired so I have a bit of time to read up.

Seem that ETFs are best to start with as the fund manager does the heavy lifting. Does the old saying to "Buy, buy, buy when everyone says sell, sell, sell" still apply?

A family member has SWTZ (Switzer) shares and he is reasonably happy with them, any opinions or first hand experiences with similar funds? Remember that I'm a noob so not too many short hand notations please. :p

2. SatayKing

SatayKing Well-Known Member

One thought is you may have taken action the wrong way round. Read first then open a brokerage account.

As we don't know what you actually want to do I'm not sure others will be in a position to offer suggestions. I certainly can't based on the very broad scope of your post - not that I necessarily would in any event.

Silverson and number 5 like this.
  3. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

Probably more a point for the younger people. Everyone wants to invest after a crash. But its very hard to pull the trigger when there is so much conflicting information.

The idea is to learn first, then execute. If you have a few basics and a few shares in mind, at least, you learn a lot faster when things are moving quickly.

4. Hodor

Hodor Well-Known Member

Fancy funds and advertising attracts the punters, rarely do the promised results follow.

No idea what you want to achieve etc etc etc. A place to start thinking is half VAS (Vanguard Australian Shares) and half VGS (Vanguard Global Shares), then consider the pros (low fee, diversified, not going to lose your shirt) and cons of deviating from that.