Difficult Tenants - Solar Panels

Discussion in 'Property Management' started by Dark Phoenix, 20th Nov, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Dark Phoenix

Dark Phoenix Well-Known Member

Hi everyone,

It is my first time posting a new thread here. I have this property in Sydney rented out to tenants. At first, they were nice and there was not any issue until lately.

I understand anything in need of maintenance is the landlord's liability in NSW. I had the roof, damaged wires, doors etc. fixed in a timely manner as long as the PM escalated to me, which is fine.

I also did the right thing by having rewarded them a gift voucher last month.

Last week, it was the air condition that had been repaired. The PM called me this week letting me know their energy bill soared from $300 to $800, which is not the usual case. They doubt that the solar panels on the roof must have stopped working leading to a sudden surge in their latest bill. The PM explained to me whatever had worked before tenants moved in must be in usable condition throughout their tenancy and it is my obligation to have them maintained.

Just because they claimed that solar panels must have stopped working, it does not mean they did. There were several factors for example they might have overused heater, air condition, which was out of order just last week etc. Let the PM do their job now but it is ridiculous in the sense that I feel like they are now abusing their rights.

Has anyone been through this before? Please helppp!

Cheers,

2. thatbum

thatbum Well-Known Member

I get your point, but don't you want to at least do some rudimentary checks on whether the panels are working?

Michael Mitchell likes this.
  3. Dark Phoenix

That's what I said above by letting the PM do their job now by asking for someone to come in and do some check and a quote if broken.

4. thatbum

thatbum Well-Known Member

What's the alternative though? To ignore the request?