Development in Victoria

Discussion in 'Development' started by Gringo, 19th Apr, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Gringo

Gringo Member

Hi all,

What a great forum. I’ve only discovered this site and have read all of the threads in the development section and have learnt a lot.

I’m hoping someone with knowledge in developing and the local area I wish to build can help.

I am a first time builder and thinking about building a duplex in Glen Iris on 700sqm of land.

Some of the questions I have are:

1) what is your experience with council building a duplex vs stand alone two storey dwellings. I have noticed that there have been a few of both built over the past few years. Does council have a preference/appetite? Are they reasonable to work with? My preference is for a side by side duplex as both homes can have street frontage.

2) what is the initial process? Should a town planner or architect be engaged first? Can they work together? I prefer to use a town planner and architect to ensure there are no issues throughout the process and work with a local expert while maximising the size of the land and design.

3) how long can the process take from initial planning to build start?

4) how much does a town planner and architect generally cost? I have viewed some
    town planners recommended on this site as a starting point to understand their role.

5) has council changed their stance on two dwellings on the block over the past few years? I know someone who had done something similar some years ago and the process appeared to be drawn out.

6) have I missed anything else worth considering or asking this community?

FYI. This isn’t for investment purposes so ROI isn’t important on this project.

Thanks all in advance.

2. Tufan Chakir

Tufan Chakir Well-Known Member