VIC Developing multiple units in Melbourne Northern Suburbs

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Eshtee, 11th Sep, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Eshtee

Eshtee Member

Hello All,
    Hope everyone is doing well.
    I am planning on doing a multi unit development in melbourne northern suburbs and looking for a block where plans and permits are already approved by the council. There are some of them advertised on realestate.com.au

6 Gordon Court Glenroy Vic 3046 - House for Sale #126117250 - realestate.com.au
    77 Hubert Avenue Glenroy Vic 3046 - House for Sale #126190166 - realestate.com.au

Plan is to
    1. buy and hold all units
    2. wait for couple of years
    3. get equity out of these
    4. go to step 1.
    I have never done multi unit development before and i am in the process of getting equity out of my 2 existing properties. I'll have around 200K in equity (valuation already done waiting for the paperwork) and planning on going to 90% LVR to secure the loan for this multi unit development.

So the questions are:
    1. Does it all make sense?
    2. Are there any gotchas?
    3. Would it be hard to get the existing tenants out of the property to re-develop?
    4. Is 90% LVR ok? since i would most likely get another loan in a couple of years for the next project.
    5. How much do you think would be building cost etc. on a multi unit development given they already have a plan approved by the council?
    6. Any other issues?
    I really appreciate your advise and support.

Regards,

2. Big Will

Big Will Well-Known Member

Since no one has given you their thoughts as yet this is mine and I haven't done a development but am in a similar boat as our recent purchase was on 1,600m2 of land 10km from CBD (Brisbane).

1. Does it all make sense? - Yes it makes sense