Business Technology Developing a computer program?

Discussion in 'Starting & Running a Business' started by Jaylu, 14th Sep, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Jaylu

Jaylu New Member

Hi All,

I have an idea that I want to bring to market - it's basically a computer program/app (more of a program I think though.)

Trouble is, I have no idea how to develop a computer program. I basically want someone who already knows about such things to do it for me - does anyone have a guy/girl that they have used before for this kind of thing?

I also have no idea about the cost of this, timeframe it takes etc - I'm basically googling how to do the whole thing but would love to hear some real people's ideas/experiences too.

2. Srini Ranganathan

Srini Ranganathan Active Member

I'm getting a website built for our business using a company in India that I found online. I am from India so less cultural barriers for me. I am also a developer myself. So that helps.

I would suggest posting on freelancer or similar websites. But be sure to...
    1. Clearly specify the scope of work
    2. Ask for a fixed price
    3. Understand what is included and not included
    4. If you need help/support after development, understand what that would look like.

If you provide more details, I may be able to help with more specific ideas.

Get a few quotes, compare, read their reviews, talk to their other customers and go from there.

You could also do the same with local companies, but be prepared to pay 2x - 3x. That's what I've found in my experience.

3. Taso Katsionis

Taso Katsionis Member

I've outsourced development of website and apps, the pricing is great but if you've not used these services and managed projects of this nature, the time you will spend on managing outsourced developers could be more than paying a local company.