Desperate landlord

Discussion in 'Property Management' started by skyfury, 27th Feb, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. skyfury

skyfury Well-Known Member

Hi

I have been renting for a few years and eventually I have my investment property. When I was renting, I always keep paying rent on time and keep rented premise clean enough so I thought everyone is same kind.

During leasing, agent told me they found good tenant, everything was good, income, background check etc, I asked agent if tenant have dogs, agent said they have a small outdoor dog, which always keep outside and she would ask them to sign pet clause and extra 500 pets bonds. Based on what agent told me, at the end, I agreed to sign this tenant.

Agent signed contract on behalf of me, that is how problem comes. I did not see contract until agent signed it.

Agent did not make the contract as they told me. There is two dogs in contract and there is no 500 extra bonds. I was mad when I saw the contract. I came back to agent to ask why there is two dogs but you told me there is only one, she said sorry I forgot to tell you….

tenant has not payed rent on time for 4 months. It was hard process to ask property manager to send “Notice to vacate” letter to let them out. They always pay some rent when it is 21 days overdue before agent can apply for VCAT. During last 4 months, there was one chance to apply for VCAT but result was repayment plan. Another time agent could apply for VCAT but before hearing, tenant payed rent and arrear was clear so hearing was adjourned.

I find tenant facebook, he is always keep showing off that he rents a good house, and there are photos he keeps a big dog in house which is not allowed by lease and he contains more people in the premise than lease allows. I snapshot photo and sent to agent. Agent told me they could not use these photos because tenant could sue them since this is tenant privacy.