QLD Demolish house at Coorparoo, Brisbane?

Discussion in 'Property Analysis' started by Bertone, 2nd Jul, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Bertone

Bertone Member

Hello, I hope this is an appropriate place to ask this question.

I am new to the process of selling a property, and am hoping to get some advice for my in-laws. They have an 850 sq metre flat block opposite a park and about a ten minute walk to Coorparoo train station. They are looking to downsize and wonder if they would likely achieve a better sale price if they demolish the house and just sell the land. Its a 4 bed house about 40 years old, with only minor improvements. They have noticed that larger blocks of land seem to be in high demand close to the city.

Does anyone have any thoughts?

2. wylie

wylie Moderator Staff Member

I wouldn't knock it down. I'd put it in the hands of an agent who has developers on his books. And that would be most good established agents.

With the right sized block of land, your parents will likely have an offer by this time tomorrow if you call an agent today.

We called an agent once to get an idea of what our large block would possibly sell for, and within 24 hours he had a verbal offer for us. It was cheekily low and we just said "no thanks", so within the next 24 hours it had increased by $200k. Still this offer was roughly what the block was worth "as is" and we were "giving away" the premium for having a developable block.

This agent knew we were just testing the waters, and knew we had no plans to sell it at that time, but the way he did it was to put it to some developers he knew, and one wanted it.

3. Bertone

Bertone Member