Dark, coloured curtains vs light, neutral ones

Discussion in 'Styling & Decorating' started by KayTea, 24th Sep, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. KayTea

KayTea Well-Known Member

It's my first time renovating an IP, so I'm trying to ensure that I'm catering to the greatest number of potential tenants (and not just my own preferences). From what I've read, staying away from verticals is the way to go. Based on the positions and sizes of the windows, pull down blinds are going to work, so I'm going with curtains (I'm pretty sure that @wylie advocated the benefits of IKEA curtains for IPs some time ago.....).

I'll be putting very neutral, off-white curtains in the bedrooms, the lounge room is causing me some grief. This space cops the full eastern morning sun (in SE QLD - where it can be 30+ before 8am in summer), and I'm having trouble making a decision. I'm looking at putting a sheer privacy curtain in, but will definitely need to put a more solid/thicker curtain in front (especially for the heat in summer).

As far as I can ascertain, here are the positions for dark (was looking at a plain dark/navy blue, as dark grey won't go with the carpet, black is too harsh, and the dark browns are now seen as quite 'dated') vs light curtains, being used in a space that has off white walls and quite dark carpet:

DARK - pros
    * blocks out a lot of the light (easier to watch tv etc) and heat
    * less likely to get dirty
    * doesn't just blend in with the walls, so it adds a bit of interest/pop, but without the busyness of patterns etc

DARK - cons
    * as navy is not a neutral colour, people may be put off renting the place if it doesn't match their current lounge suite/rugs etc

LIGHT/NEUTRAL- pros
    * easier to match or not conflict with most furnishings

LIGHT/NEUTRAL- cons
    * won't block out as much light or heat
    * likely to get dirtier more easily

Any advice?

2. Marg4000

Marg4000 Well-Known Member