Critique my 3 year plan

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by property newb, 6th Jan, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. property newb

property newb Member

Hey guys, I’ve been reading and researching for a while and think 2017 would be a good time to really nut down my plan. I am completely new to property investing so would appreciate any advice given.

I am thinking of buying an investment property in melb for approx 300-400k. The reason I’ve been thinking about melb is because it is much more affordable than Sydney, there is a higher population growth compared to other states and it is second to Sydney in terms of jobs. I’m also viewing this as a long term buy and hold (possibly 10+ years). I’m hesitant in investing in QLD due to flooding/environmental factors.

I don’t have a particular melb suburb in mind at the moment, but I’ll use Cranbourne as an example for now as that fits within my budget.

Currently I have about $100k saved up.
    The average 2br home (according to REA) in Cranbourne is about $300k.
    $60k will go to the deposit
    $25k will go to settle fees, inspections, lawyers (do you think $25k is a good estimate for this?)

Based on an average rent of $298 p/w (from REA) for a 2 bedroom house in Cranbourne, I’ve used a calculation somewhere on the internet to estimate that I’ll be approx $2190 out of pocket annually with a 6% loan interest rate.

Are there other costs that I should consider? Anyone have any idea on avg annual maintenance costs? Depreciation? Other factors?

At the moment I’m living with my parents but would eventually like to move out and buy my own place in Sydney. I’ve read multiple sources that in 2018/2019 there will be an oversupply in units, in which I’d love to swoop in and grab one at a discounted price. How likely do you think this will happen?