Crack in the hallway

Discussion in 'Repairs & Maintenance' started by minhdung1911, 29th May, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. minhdung1911

minhdung1911 Member

Dear all

The agent just did a quarterly inspection and reported on these cracks. How serious is this crack and what should i do? I am really worried now

The IP is in Ipswich and was built in 2012.

Thanks all

Tommy

Attached Files:

2. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

These would appear at first glance to be a designed crack and the building has failed do follow instructions on where to crack. (wisecrack).

Get a gyprocker to create more defined cracks and patch the ceilings.

A building inspection may find a root cause If it is not due to solely to dry weather.

3. minhdung1911

minhdung1911 Member

Thanks Scott. Sorry for the dumb question but could you please explain a bit more on your first 2 paragraphs? I'm totally new to this and would like to have some guidance.

Prior to purchase the IP, i got a pre-purchase building inspection and was told that it was due to the soil movement pr something similar.

4. Joynz

Joynz Well-Known Member

An ‘expansion joint’ (which I think is what Scott means by a ‘designed crack’) prevents cracking following movement of the structure of the building. Commonly used in large ceilings or long hallways.

If you need to put an expansion joint in, these days it would likely be hidden under a fake plaster ‘beam’ or similar.

The cracks in the cornice and wall should be patched, however they may open up again. The site how2plaster.com.au has lots of info as does the Renovate Forum - a great local site.

5. minhdung1911

minhdung1911 Member

Thanks Joynz. Can a handyman do this type of job? Because i'm in different state

6. Joynz

Joynz Well-Known Member