Could age hold me back?

Discussion in 'Investor Psychology & Mindset' started by Nathan Simon, 2nd Nov, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Nathan Simon

Nathan Simon Well-Known Member

I am after personal opinion here.

I am a Real Estate Agent working currently under another agent and wanting to fan out on my own.
    I am currently only 18 years of age and many people have tried shooting me down saying I'm too young.
    I of course don't agree, I believe I have knowledge and the confidence to go solo within the agency and still be a successful agent.

Being property owners yourselves, would you looks adversely on an agent simply due to age? Or would you look more at knowledge, passion, enthusiasm and ability?

Last edited: 3rd Nov, 2015
    WattleIdo likes this.
  2. Heinz57

Heinz57 Well-Known Member

Question for you young fella.

Would you disregard a client because (s)he is "old"

KayTea likes this.
  3. Bran

Bran Well-Known Member

Yes, I would. But don't let it get you down, keep the big picture.

Don't be in a hurry - in anything.

At 18, there is still loads to learn, and being under another agent gives you some protection. Being burnt at your age might be the hardest thing to recover from. Watch and learn grasshopper.

Observer, JDP1, albanga and 5 others like this.
  4. Special order

Special order Well-Known Member

There will always be people telling you, you can't do things no matter what age you are

wylie, WattleIdo and Nathan Simon like this.
  5. Nathan Simon

I don't think I would. If they can prove themselves and believe in their work, then why not

Last edited: 3rd Nov, 2015
  6. sash

sash Well-Known Member

Depends how professionaly you present yourself...and if you can offer me a good deal. ;)

Taku Ekanayake and Nathan Simon like this.
  7. Nathan Simon

Well... Everything is negotiable

8. MattA

MattA Well-Known Member