Costly mistakes what should i do now?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by jjcxu, 15th Dec, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. jjcxu

jjcxu Member

Hey guys

I'm a late 20s newbie investor looking to get into the game (salary around 100k), I know i have made of an alot of investment mistakes so please looking for advice where to go from here. Please find below my story

Bought a block of land in Cranbourne North for 175 (448 sqm size) in 2011, settled 2013. However never built on it as the estate didnt have timeline to build. Paid interest and principle on it last 3.5 years

Bought a block of land in Ocean Grove for 150k (490 sqm size) in for 2012 with cash I had saved most of my life so didnt pay any mortgage on it, yet to build on it aswell as it wasnt costing me any interest payment, however paid rates land tax etc on it last 4 years.

I have realized this is a costly mistake as I would have been alot better off in equity if I built on them earlier instead of having assets wasnt earning me anything (Ocean Grove rent will be around 475 per week and I will be positive cashflowed). I have just signed up with 2 builders to build on them, going to live in Cranbourne North so I can at least get the FHOG.

However I am wondering what I should now? Just wait for them finish building in 2017 and buy something else with equity or buy another block of land and land bank it for a year or so as they are massive delays these days between deposit and settlement. I have 30k sitting in my offset account atm for the land deposit, or should I buy established however I dont think I can afford established right now as most of the houses in Melbourne inner ring is 1m+. My salary is around 100k

Looking for some direction where to go from here, even advice regarding how to setup my loan structure once building commences etc are appreciated. Thanks in advance guys

Last edited: 15th Dec, 2016
  2. Yson

Yson Well-Known Member