Cost of Pool Pump and Chlorinator

Discussion in 'Repairs & Maintenance' started by Ekin200, 15th Oct, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Ekin200

Ekin200 Well-Known Member

Hi PC folks.

One of my IPs has a 20+ year old pool and unfortunately the pool filter and salt water chlorinator has broken. This means I have to replace both items at a cost of $2600 and the PM has quoted the following prices inclusive of parts and installation - $1395 for a Astral CA280 filter and $1215 for the Astral E25 salt chlorinator.

Unfortunately I am a newbie when it comes to pools and know nothing about how pumps and chlorinators work.

Base on the PC community's knowledge, are the prices quoted above reasonable? I've been told that I could probably negotiate about 5% off, but that's it. Also, the technician has claimed that the Astral products are made in Australia, reliable and there is easy access to spare parts plus a 15 year warranty.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. Cadbury99

Cadbury99 Well-Known Member

My first thoughts are - how does a pool filter break? It’s basically a big drum with some pipes that is full of sand. The sand needs replacing every 5 years or so.
    The chlorinator - unless the controller is caput, why not just replace the cell?
    If you are concerned about the cost why not get a second opinion from another pool maintenance company?

Ekin200 likes this.
  3. Propagate

Propagate Well-Known Member

Sounds like the pump has broke rather than the filter as such. Prices seem about right to me (having replaced both myself), although I don't know those models so don't know if they are value for money. I paid almost $2k for a new pump (big one though, I overspecced it a little) and I paid $1000 for a new chlorinator.

Those prices excluded fitting costs, I got the local pool guy to do that for me, was about $500 all up for fitting from memory.