Consolidation phase - how to?

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Jean81, 14th Dec, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Jean81

Jean81 Member

Hi,
    Over the past 2 years my husband and I have reached our goal of 8 properties bringing in $150k rental income which is great but I'm now stuck on how to pay off the debts on these properties. Banks are tight these days so really only lending us money if a property is cash flow positive. As a general rule cash flow positive properties don't give us the quick capital growth that we need to pay off our existing property base.
    What would you recommend our strategy be to pay off the debts? I'm thinking of a small subdivision? But I've never done anything like that before? what are people's strategies to quickly pay off the debts?

House likes this.
  2. thatbum

thatbum Well-Known Member

Sell your lowest yielding properties with the highest equity available? That's my strategy anyway.

Terry_w likes this.
  3. Propertunity

Propertunity Well-Known Member

^ ^ this. Most seem to sell 1/2 to outright own the other 1/2. But seek some professional advice as there will be CGT implications to be minimised.

4. Jean81

Jean81 Member

We have only bought the properties in the last 2 years so there isn't much equity in them yet. We could go down the route of buying another batch of properties and waiting for the capital growth over the next 5-10 years but we are looking for other quicker "manufacturing profit" options?

5. Propertunity

Ah with property you don't do a 2 year acquisition phase and then move straight into a consolidation phase. :confused: You hold for a full cycle now instead.

So your question becomes "How do I make money?"
    Renovate to add value
    Subdivision
    Development
    Start a business
    Get a better paying job etc.

Hwangers, samiam, Chris Au and 3 others like this.
  6. Jean81

Jean81 Member