Confusion about Building Setback Requirements

Discussion in 'Development' started by NewToThis123, 13th Aug, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. NewToThis123

NewToThis123 Member

Hi all,

I've been entertaining the idea of building a granny flat at the rear of my property. I don't intend to rent it out to strangers but rather for my parents to live in or use as a guest house/entertainment room/gym etc.

According to the Botany Bay Council DCP, a minimum of 4m is required for the rear setback (for lots with <12.5m frontage as mine is). However, I want to build the granny flat as close to the rear boundary as possible to maximise the yard space between the 2 dwellings.

I've never done a development application before so I was wondering is it possible to get Council to relax on the rear setback requirement, or is everything in the DCP set in stone?

I stumbled across the floorplan for one of my neighbouring properties (whos lot frontage and length is even less than mine) and it seems they were able to build a secondary dwelling pretty much right on their rear boundary. The plan can be found here: https://i2.au.reastatic.net/3126x16...b0568c12cff6a2fd11a62964b6968ff0450/image.gif

Now the council DCP also states that "Outbuildings (not including secondary dwellings) must be set back 900mm from the site’s boundaries."

So I'm wondering, is their structure considered an 'outbuilding' instead of a secondary dwelling? (It doesnt seem to have a shower/laundry/kitchen etc)

I've looked at historic satellite photos, and it appears that their construction started in late 2014 (after the inception of the 2013 DCP).

They did have a small shed in the same location at that time, however it seems like it was completely demolished in place of the studio and was not just an alteration.

2. Gavin Ng

Gavin Ng Well-Known Member