Confused about CGT and 6 year rule - Please Help.

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by Fasteddie888, 10th Nov, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Fasteddie888

Fasteddie888 New Member

Hi guys I'm a newbie that just wants to be pointed at the right direction as my tax accountant and a friend of mine who's also a tax accountant is telling me different things. . I hope the gurus and masters can help me out please.

I bought a unit in for 468k Sydney Feb 2014 and was rented out right away as there was tenants already inside. It was rented out until Feb 2015 in which I moved inside with my wife until Oct 2015 we decide moved out as we were expecting a newborn and needed help with my parents so I moved in with them. we sold the unit Oct 2017 631k.

I did my tax with my currently account in which I paid about 32k CGT.

My friend told me today that I should have been exempt from the time I moved back in until the property was sold. and he's very sure that's the case and is asking for me to review the case.

*******************************************************************************************************************
    2nd questions, I have no PPOR under my name and I have recently bought a house in Sydney, now what is the least amount time I need to live there to be eligible for the property to be my PPOR before I can rent it out, also I understand I need to update banks, RTA, insurance etc etc to the new address. but there is mix response if it's 3 months or 6 months. AFTER I'm eligible I will move into a granny flat to look after my elderly parents who's ill but my currently account said as the property I just bought and where my parents live is only 1 suburb away I won't be able to eligible for the 6 year rule so it's best to rent out the property from the start.

Thanks in advance for reading

Cheers

2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member