Confused about broker advice

Discussion in 'The Buying & Selling Process' started by Sail, 1st Nov, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Sail

Sail Active Member

Hi,

I have been talking to a broker since a couple of months as I'm looking to buy a new property soon. This will be my first home. I asked the broker about obtaining pre-approval so he advised that nowadays pre-approvals mean nothing, so he said that he will check all my statements and documents and also perform a credit assessment (which won't affect my credit score because of the method they use) and he said that will be enough as a pre-approval, and that I don't actually need one from a bank.

Is this sound advice?

Also, he wants me to preferably go for non-auction properties so I can add subject to finance clause, so that makes me wonder more if this is the right advice?

2. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

Sounds right if its a good broker. Probably has a couple potential lenders so when you pull the trigger they will apply with one of them.

Non auction properties are ‘safer’ in that auctions are unconditional. Ask the broker how the process changes if you intend on buying at auction.

if you dont trust the broker this is going to be a painful experience.

3. Rolf Latham

Rolf Latham Inciteful (sic) Staff Member Business Plus Member

What be the LVR pls ?

ta
    rolf

4. Sail

Sail Active Member

I’m looking at 94% including lmi.

5. Sail

Sail Active Member

Broker seems reputed based on google reviews.

I’m looking at properties in Victoria and they mostly go in auctions. Also agents in private sales straight away refuse subject to finance clause. So I am feeling restricted.

6. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

I would be avoiding auctions at that LVR!
    But a pre-approval might be a good idea.

7. Sail

Sail Active Member