Completely green investor from Brisbane

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Brad-corp, 15th Jan, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Brad-corp

Brad-corp Member

Hi,
    As the thread suggests - I am completely green at this. I am yet to acquire my first investment. I've been standing on the sidelines watching the game for at least 2 years now.
    I listen to a few different podcasts on property investing and have read a lot of books. About the only thing I haven't done is trudged along to all of the free seminars every Saturday because I believe that if you don't have to pay for something it is because *you* are the product.

So, a little about me:
    Early 30s, married with 1 child. Both my wife and I work full time in the human services field. We both have decent wages and we save some cash, but I feel like we both work way harder than our bank accounts suggest. I also feel like I am missing my daughter growing up. So my why is, like most people - I want to be in control of my time and I just don't believe we're meant to spend 5/7ths of our lives away from our families in order to be able to afford to spend the remaining 2/7ths with them (which you also don't do because you have to do all the admin and domestic stuff during that 2/7ths as well).

We purchased our PPR in 2012 in the Bayside area and really enjoy living there although that house is not going to be our forever home. We bought it with the plan to do a renovation but life got in the way. Finally, we started the renovation in August 2017 and I thought we had finished in October, but the wife has decided that we just need plantation shutters. So they should be on by the end of the month and then we're done.