Commsec account

Discussion in 'Shares & Funds' started by bfhoon, 20th Sep, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. bfhoon

bfhoon Active Member

Hey Everyone

Thinking about investing in soome share so was going to start up a commsec account. Would this be a good idea for a beginner I already got confused with the 3 options the CDIA or use my own account. Is commsec a good platform to use for a beginner?

2. Big A

Big A Well-Known Member

hey @bfhoon , I am a novice when it comes to trading, so I am sure you will get a few more of the wise heads chiming in soon. Though I have a commsec account and have used it a few times. I believe the CDIA is the cash settlement account linked to the commsec trading account you will have.
    Commsec is fine to use as a basic purchasing platform. A platform is a platform, don't know if it really matters whether you are a beginner or veteran. It will allow you to purchase shares. Is there something more you want from the platform? e.g performance reporting / tax calculations. There are other platforms that can give you a variety of reporting options from your performance to tax statements come tax time. Though such a platform will come with extra costs. I now use BT Panorama as my holding and purchasing platform.

3. Noobieboy

Noobieboy Well-Known Member

I use CommSec. It is a bit pricey. Almost $20 per trade ($19.95) to be precise. CDIA is pretty handy and all your dividends can be paid into that account with a very easy setup. I love the functionality, it has pretty much everything I need from tax reporting to information on shares and registry updates.

I’ve used another broker before that charges $9 per trade but hated their primitive tax reporting.

Also COMMSEC holds shares in CHESS. Which means shares are not “pooled” like in many other brokers, they are actually held / owned in the name of individual investor. That’s extremely important to me personally.