Commercial Yield

Discussion in 'Commercial Property' started by Sydney Villain, 20th Oct, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Sydney Villain

Sydney Villain Member

Hi all.

I am looking to buy into an unlisted REIT on a commercial property in a regional CBD location.

I am new to REIT's, and commercial property, but I have been investing and developing for a few years. I purchased $50k into my first unlisted REIT which is yielding 8%, no fees, which pays out quarterly.

I have done my own calculations using my limited experience, however I would like someone to help me out with a sanity check. Any comments are welcome

The property is located on a main street in the CBD in a good location.
    5 tenants. Recently commenced in 2018/2019
    - 3 tenants on 5+5 year leases
    - 1 tenant on 5+2 year leases
    - 1 tenant on 5 year lease
    I consider the tenants to be fairly strong. Mainly financial services, lawyers, service type companies
    All leases are on fixed 3% annual increases

Income = $1,000,000 (Inc. $286k recoverables) Less Outgoings = $300,000
    Net income = $700,000

Purchase Price = $11,650,000
    Loan = $6,600,000 (~55% LVR)
    Interest rate = 3.45%
    Interest = $230,000pa

700k (Net Income) - 230k (Interest)
    = 490k

490 / 5.05
    = 9.3% ROE

The site has development potential for apartments which would mean demolishing the building. We will hold the site for a few years. I expect to get some growth in the land value in the meantime. The trust will probably be rolled up, and then I can reinvest in the development.

EXECUTION
    I have pulled $140k equity out of 2 of my properties and intend to put this into the trust. Getting them to 80% LVR (even with poor valuations - I expect to get some more capital growth as the market goes up).

Interest is at 3.7% so I would end up with a net yield of 5.6%.