Commercial to residential

Discussion in 'Development' started by johnallen, 12th Oct, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. johnallen

johnallen New Member

Hey all, bit of a noob here. Bought a house recently. Gold Coast, QLD. Zoned medium density residential. Normal (old) double storey house. It was once used as offices (hair dresser, lawyer, etc). It was most recently rented as residential through an agent, agent said it's residential, conveyancer said it's residential (didn't do any searches because everyone said it's fine, perhaps a bit dumb, but seemed OK at the time).

Anyway, got the first rates notice and it's close to $10k per year. Called the council, who said it's because the premises are commercial classification (they were vague and unhelpful, but I presume that means the building isn't class 1a). To reclassify as residential and have rates adjusted, they suggested reaching out to a private certifier. PCs say to speak to a town planner, but town planners shrugged it off as well. Bit of back and forth - nobody can give a simple answer.

Happy to spend a bit to get it up to current code (smoke alarms, etc) but not sure what else might bring us undone. Just want to live in the place and pay reasonable rates.

Anyone got any tips on process, who to speak to, etc?

2. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

Selling in qld usually includes a rates and body corp (if applicable) disclosure. Was the rates thing disclosed somewhere?

3. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

Just wait until you get your bill for land tax, that'll make your eyes water.

4. johnallen

johnallen New Member

Yeah it was, and the solicitors and agent played it right down, suggesting that it'd all get sorted once the title moved over. Pretty naive to trust them on their word, in hindsight.

5. johnallen

johnallen New Member