Commercial Tenant

Discussion in 'Commercial Property' started by FireDragon, 23rd Jul, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. FireDragon

FireDragon Well-Known Member

My development has 6 shops and 49 units. For the shops I've offers from some restaurants and a medical imaging center. The good thing is that the medical imaging center is going to take 4 shops and a long lease. My worry is that some residential tenant may not like having a medical imaging center downstairs due to radiation. Will it make the residential apartments more difficult to sell or rent?

By the way, I did some research and it seems other medical imaging center are normally in a commercial building.

Any comments are welcome.

2. thatbum

thatbum Well-Known Member

As a resident, I'd much prefer a medical imaging centre downstairs than a whole number of other possible retail/professional businesses. Especially instead of 4 other potential shops.

3. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

Medical imaging premises are required to install shielding to prevent escape of radiation.

I would prefer a clean usage rather than a restaurant as a residential occupant.

How are you making provision for kitchen exhaust and grease traps?

4. wooster

wooster Well-Known Member

Have never heard of any rumours on Medical imaging center affecting health. So, I guess there is no problem.

Did heard of telco tower before though.

5. alicudi

alicudi Well-Known Member

Hi

Depends on the extent of the medical imaging equipment been used.. If it is just ultra sound and x-rays it isn't as bad as having CT scanners and MRI machines which is a totally different kettle of fish.