Claiming for tax purposes - repair & maintenance, vs capital works

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by KayTea, 24th Jul, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. KayTea

KayTea Well-Known Member

Hi guys.

It's my first year with an IP, so pulling together all the paperwork for my annual tax return is proving to be a lot more challenging and time consuming than anticipated (and I'm a very organised person, so this is very frustrating).

I'm trying to determine, for some expenses that the property has incurred, whether they are repairs, or capitals works. Based on my reading of the ATO site, the replacement of a defective item that has a function in it's own rite (e.g. a stove top), is a capital work, and needs to be declared within the depreciation schedule. However, work to repair an item is just that, a repair, and can be claimed outright.

So, if I get the broken cooktop replaced, is the cost of the actual cooktop claimable as a capital item, but the payment of the tradesman to install it seen as a repair cost? If I have one invoice that just puts the whole lot in as one expense e.g.. "install new cooktop = $850" which covers both the item cost, and the installation cost, do I just put the whole expense within the depreciation schedule?

Or, for example, if I buy new tap ware, but get a plumber to install it, how do I apportion the expenses?

TIA,
    KayTea

2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

installation expenses are included in the item cost for tax (not claimed separately)

If you replace a broken stove with the same model it might be a repair. If you replace it with a different one it may be an improvement and therefore be depreciated over a number of years.

KayTea likes this.
  3. Marg4000

Marg4000 Well-Known Member

It appears you have owned the IP for less than a year.