QLD checklist to property purchase?

Discussion in 'Property Analysis' started by toozs, 28th Apr, 2022.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. toozs

toozs Well-Known Member

Hi guys,

What are some of the things to look out for when purchasing an investment property?

e.g.
    Property should:
    - have a yield of at least 5%
    - be a detached dwelling
    - There are no major units/property developments nearby
    - have high vacancy rates
    - be insurable
    - have easier access to public transport
    - Nearby quality schools
    - suburb should have a higher proportion of owner-occupied and families

I am a newbie and the above is just based on some basic research.
    It's probably too much and might lead to overthinking. so any suggestions or feedback is welcome

Thanks heaps

datto likes this.
  2. datto

datto Well-Known Member

No termites.

toozs likes this.
  3. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

So if the seller gives you a rental guarantee at 5% yield for a year……

4. toozs

toozs Well-Known Member

but if it's in a suburb where vacancy rate is say at 0.3%, provided the property has also had a good rental history... why would you want a guarantee?

5. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

Because not every suburb has 5% yield. Would you have used the same criteria in sydney for example for the last 10 years? Most metro sydney properties wouldnt have 5% yield and you would have missed a tripling of prices.

Alf83 and toozs like this.
  6. toozs

toozs Well-Known Member

definitely not looking at Sydney or Melbourne, I am looking at regional QLD for now

That should also be on the check list too, i.e - > property is not in Sydney or Melbourne :p

7. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

You can be assured that the price will have increased to cover the 5%, it won't come for free. :oops:

Travelbug likes this.
  8. Branden

Branden Well-Known Member Business Member