Changing real estate agent

Discussion in 'The Buying & Selling Process' started by ostrich98, 11th Apr, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. ostrich98

ostrich98 Well-Known Member

Hi I’m new in this hoping to get some ideas here

We are selling one of our IPs in Brisbane and it has been on the market for 4 weeks now without any offer. Looked up some info online and talked to a few people and they said the two common factors are price and real estate agent

Price wise we are fully guided by the real estate agent. He gave us a written appraisal with a range of $670-720k. We also had a bank valuation a few months ago that came back at $690k before renovation (we took some money out to renovate the bathroom and repaint the house).

I also believe that he is a good agent with good communication skills. Although he does not normally sell in that area he was highly recommended by a friend which was the reason we used him. Long story It has been 4 weeks and we have not received any offers. A friend of mine (who’s also a real estate agent) thought this is strange as we should be getting some offers now even silly/low ball offers. I’m not sure about the market sentiment currently but it’s in a mostly owner occupied suburb with good schools.

I understand that there are many reason why your property doesn’t sell but I’m just wondering if it’s worthwhile engaging a local agent now to sell our property as they will have more knowledge about the area and might even have database of clients to sell the property off-market?

2. hobartchic

hobartchic Well-Known Member

Before you assume it's the agent (and it's unlikely if they have a good reputation) I would research recent sales in the area. Look for equivalent properties recently and price accordingly. If it's an older house expect to reduce the price compared to newer ones.

3. ostrich98

ostrich98 Well-Known Member