Ceasing Employment Arrangement to Access Income Stream

Discussion in 'Superannuation, SMSF & Personal Insurance' started by John Smith, 1st Dec, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. John Smith

John Smith Well-Known Member

I am 62 and my resignation date from my current position is December 17 2020. At this point in time I have no intention to going back to work therefore I can clearly state that I have will have ceased my employment arrangement on this date.
    However, I will be receiving a payout for outstanding long service leave, and as I am a teacher, I will be paid for ongoing school holidays until Jan 27.
    Am I able to begin an income stream from my super from Dec 17 or must it be Jan 27? I have not been able to find a definitive answer to this query from any of my online research. Can anyone help me with this?

2. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

If you are long service leave paid out and for the school holidays anyway, does it matter?

3. Mark F

Mark F Well-Known Member

My thoughts would be from 17 December as any payments received after this time are payments for accrued leave (personal and LS) and not ongoing employment as you resigned as of 17 December and any notice period will have been worked out by that date..

4. Paul@PAS

Paul@PAS Tax, Accounting + SMSF + All things Property Tax Business Plus Member

You are referring to a condition of release for super