QLD Carseldine vs Bridgeman Downs for capital growth (IP)

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Triska, 22nd Mar, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Triska

Triska New Member

Hi There

Newbie here. I'm looking to buy an IP for $650K-$700K. The areas I'm considering are Carseldine/Boondall/Bracken Ridge and Bridgeman Downs.

What are your thoughts about capital growth over the next 10 years for these suburbs? Carseldine area seems better for roads to the city, access to airport, train stations, schools and shopping, and is a bit cheaper. B/Downs seems to be much further away from schools, city and airport. Why is it so much more expensive than Carseldine area? If the drivers for capital growth are: proximity to work, transport, schools, recreation and shopping, which area will have greater capital growth in the 10-15year timeframe? And which area will continually attract good quality tenants?

The houses I'm considering are similar size - 4 bedroom, low set, brick & tile. Carseldine area houses are a bit older (up to 20 yo), Bridgeman Downs approx 4 years old.

I would really appreciate your thoughts, especially if you have local Brisbane knowledge (I'm in Melb).

Thanks!

2. BB5

BB5 Well-Known Member

Bridgeman downs more expensive as it has a lot of mcmansions. I'd probably prefer Carseldine for capital growth based on nothing more than its way more convenient.

Triska likes this.
  3. Triska

Triska New Member

When you say convenient, do you mean convenient to schools, shops etc?

4. Northy85

Northy85 Well-Known Member

Bridgeman Downs is stupidly over priced for what it is. There isn't even any shops there.

Carseldine has some nice areas (winery streets). When we were looking to buy we settled with Albany Creek but Carseldine was a close contender. Maybe look at Arana Hills, Ferny Grove, Keperra, Zillmere and Gebung too. You've got a pretty good budget.

Triska likes this.
  5. Triska

Triska New Member