Carpet Price and Quality

Discussion in 'Renovation & Home Improvement' started by legallyblonde, 26th Sep, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. legallyblonde

legallyblonde Well-Known Member

Hey All,

I was contemplating new carpet in my IP as the current carpet is pretty ugly and it is so old the underlay is horse hair (apparently people would pay for my carpet and underlay as it would have been made in england)! I got a quote for carpet and the prices varied greatly!

I did not end up proceeding as I was told the carpet at the cheaper end of the scale would probably need replacing in five years and the nicer carpet with warranty is a bit expensive! I would usually have shopped around for nicer carpet for cheaper, but there is not that much competition down my way and I was running out of time.

Does anyone have any thoughts on economically choosing carpet? I have no experience with carpet lifespans ect... Other than my current little shack that I am living in is carpeted with carpet from my childhood home and is still in okay condition after 18 years!

2. WestOz

WestOz Well-Known Member

Tenants own rugs/mats on attractive low maint vinyl planks is the better option.
    Food/drink etc spills can easily be wiped up (+pet urine etc, even if their not supposed to have one), no issues with people stepping straight out of the shower into hall/rooms
    Also accommodates anyone with allergies etc

Kael, Beelzebub and legallyblonde like this.
  3. Darlinghurst Boy

Darlinghurst Boy Well-Known Member

I just got a qoute from Carpet Court .. Downstairs and including stairway and 2 bedrooms and lounge room, blue color , "Calypso" is their cheapest, qouted me $2280 plus $280 to rip up old carpet and takeaway .