Capital Growth in Commercial Property, Prediction Question

Discussion in 'Commercial Property' started by Justin_mo, 27th Mar, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Justin_mo

Justin_mo Well-Known Member

I am very new to commercial property and doing research.

When investing in commercial property is there a way to predict capital growth easily, in the same way you would for residential property?

Is it easy to look at median price and past sales etc and hence certain areas are better for capital growth I assume?

Also do many investors aim for capital growth primarily as opposed to rental return / yield when buying commercial?

2. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

Commercial property is 'clunkier' than residential, that is usage, design, functionality, accessibility play a major role so valuers do not use direct comparison for their purposes. Capital growth is more closely aligned to economic conditions, business sentiment, supply & demand than the Marlow hierarchy of needs.
    • Median prices mean zip, value can be affected by whether the premises is vacant or occupied, the quality of tenant, length of lease - all totally irrelevant in residential property. Zoning, fsr, height, volume play a larger role.
    • Capital value is directly proportional to rent. Calculations are done on the basis of nett rent/rate of return (aka cap rate). Gross rent means zip as it's not comparable between different assets. The market determines rent, analysis determines your cap rate.
    In limited circumstances you may consider the use of direct comparison for calculating rough values eg: small suites in a block of otherwise identical offices where sales are common.

Lease Incentives:
    • Rent free - costs you cash flow but may increase asset value (if face rent remains the same)
    • Fitout contributions - affects your initial cashflow but will increase asset value if it leads to increased rent