Capital Gains Tax

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by zedd, 6th Mar, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. zedd

zedd Member

Hi there,

I'm a total newbie to property investment and am just starting to learn about it really. I've never owned a home so know little about it.

Atm my husband and I are a one income family, i'll be returning to work next year full time and we will be ready to buy soon after.

Unfortunately we are totally priced out of the area we live in , we wont have a huge deposit and I refuse to pay a ridiculous amount for a house and have no life due to financial restraints even if we did have a big deposit.

So we are considering buying an investment property for a much smaller amount, no more than 300-400k and carry on renting in the suburb we want to live in.

My question is do I have to claim that property as an investment property? It will be my only owned address so could I say it is my PPOR or will I have to declare my rental home that I live in as that? Is there a way around this?

I would be renting the investment property out and hoping it will grow in value and be our nest egg for retirement to either live in or sell. Or it will become equity for a property where we do want to live.

I'm hoping there is some way I can say its my PPOR as its my only owned home and then we dont need to pay the capital gains tax. Is this so or am I dreaming?

Thanks

2. Foxdan

Foxdan Well-Known Member

If you moved into it briefly you can claim it's your PPOR. You could then move out and rent and still claim it as your PPOR for 6yrs and not be subject to capital gains tax. But u would have to move back in after 6yrs...

Not sure what minimum living times are to claim it as a PPOR or what you have to do so it is still considered PPOR and not an investment.

3. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member