Capital gains and your end game

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by big max, 13th Mar, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. big max

big max Well-Known Member

Guys. I'm not a tax expert. So wondering what is best to do when you have a portfolio of properties built up over 20-30 years. You are sitting on a bunch of properties all with massive gains and most cashflow positive. Short of just buying more and more, how to ultimately realise the value give the damn cgt we have in oz assuming you want to "take profit"?

Is it best to hold and rent and endgame is the income?

Or best to develop/extend?

Or to sell and offset any accumulated deductions across the portfolio?

Or keep buying? (But if so, again what's the exit plan/end game)?

Prob been answered before but I would appreciate the single best answer from an economic perspective.

2. Hodor

Hodor Well-Known Member

Income (rent, dividends, interest) is what you live off without destroying your capital base. You need to generate as much income from your capital as possible given your risk profile.

For some that is living off rents, some refinance into shares or sell down some properties to reduce debt. There are many ways to go about it depending on how you feel about each strategy, there is no "best way".

wylie likes this.
  3. Barny

Barny Well-Known Member

All of the above and some. different for every individual.

4. datto

datto Well-Known Member

5. big max

Lol. Good point! Has anyone ever done that?

I presume many foreign investors do this all the time?

datto likes this.
  6. big max

I knew someone might reply like this. But there must be an optimum thing to do.

Or is it to keep then property and simply suck out equity but never sell?

There must be a mathematical "best strategy" guys. Please advise.

legallyblonde likes this.
  7. Player

Player Well-Known Member

8. Player

Player Well-Known Member