Can you buy overseas property with your SMSF and keep it when you retire?

Discussion in 'Superannuation, SMSF & Personal Insurance' started by 2ndTimeAround, 6th Jan, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. 2ndTimeAround

2ndTimeAround Active Member

Im considering a special location in Northland NZ that has some historical meaning. Im wondering if I can use my super to leverage my way into a property there and in 10 years time when retired, keep it and move in?

Im brand new to smsf so be nice :)

2. JohnPropChat

JohnPropChat Well-Known Member

Cash purchase? If you need to borrow i.e. LRBA then it is more complex but still can be done. Lots to go wrong. Get professional advice.

3. Islay

Islay Well-Known Member

4. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

A super fund trustee can buy property overseas and borrow to do so, but it is difficult to be compliant where borrowing overseas because of different laws.

You cannot live in or use a residential property held by a superfund. But you could buy it from the fund

5. Foxdan

Foxdan Well-Known Member

If it’s in the super fund, I was under the impression that you could “withdraw” the house as a payment after you reach preservation age.

6. Terry_w

Yes that might be possible as well.

7. Paul@PAS

Paul@PAS Tax, Accounting + SMSF + All things Property Tax Business Plus Member

There may be a serious non-compliance and stamp duty concern with the proposal. A LRBF would be very difficult to implement and may give rise to dual taxation as NZ doesnt recognise our bare trust structure as a SMSF custodian.