Can you build on land subject to inundation?

Discussion in 'Development' started by JVG123456, 14th Dec, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. JVG123456

JVG123456 Well-Known Member

I'm completely new to reading overlays and general building stuff, so please bear with me!

Looking at a block of land in Vic that sits along a creek, and on the planning vic website it shows that the block is in an LSIO area (it covers half of the block and is about 800m2).

Original goal was to subdivide the large block, making 3x townhouses on 350m2 (in the green area below) and building a riverfront house on ~450m2 in the red area below.

Is this a terrible idea? For the area we could likely make a good profit on the townhouses and then be able to build an amazing riverfront house for ourself, but I'm not sure how much of a dealbreaker the LSIO is.

e.g. - do it mean we just need to design a build that uses stilts? Does it mean we should avoid the block completely? Is this a "For the love of god, do not buy it" type of scenario?

[​IMG]

2. Marg4000

Marg4000 Well-Known Member

Why on earth would you want to build on a site subject to inundation?

AxeLy and Lindsay_W like this.
  3. JVG123456

Well as mentioned, I'm completely green to property development, land overlays + the possibilities and restrictions of each.

So to answer your question - The reason I'm still considering the land is because I don't know what is possible! If it's a terrible idea (and from your response I'm guessing it is so?), I want to know.

This is in Melbourne, so not the wettest place in the world, and from my cursory searching it sounds like LSIO mean a 1-in-100-year flooding event. I've looked on the council flood maps and this street is not mentioned as one that has flooded.

If it were possible to build there, on stilts I assume, it'd be an amazing riverfront property. But I'm guessing from your response that it's not possible?

4. Paul@PAS