Can the bank revoke home loan before settlement due to employment changes related to covid-19?

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by grasshopper fire, 15th Apr, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. grasshopper fire

grasshopper fire New Member

Hi I'm new to property and just signed a contract if sale in Feb for my first apartment a about week before the Covid 19 Madness hit. CBA home loan was approved and now I'm just waiting in settlement in late June.

However, my employment situation has changed, I still have a job for now, but I am on Job Keeper. i have about 10k in emergency savings.

I have received emails from the lender asking about my changes in employment. Even though my income has changed, i can still afford to pay all my expenses with Job Keeper.

Can they revoke my loan even though it hasn't been settled yet?
    And if the do will I loose my deposit?
    What happens if they reassess the loan and decide I'm no longer suitable for the loan?
    Can I loose my deposit?

2. Peter_Tersteeg

Peter_Tersteeg Mortgage Broker Business Member

I believe there are provisions for the CBA to revoke their loan approval if they determine your circumstances have changed. Yes you could loose your deposit.

3. Paul@PAS

Paul@PAS Tax, Accounting + SMSF + All things Property Tax Business Plus Member

Was the contract signed "subject to finance"?