ASX Shares Can Mr Joe Citizen buy in a capital raise?

Discussion in 'Shares & Funds' started by Jmillar, 28th Apr, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Jmillar

Jmillar Well-Known Member

Don't shoot me down as I'm just a noob.

Can Mr Joe Citizen put $1,000 into new shares being offered in a capital raise? I'm guessing there is a sizeable lower limit given the shares are offered at a discount to the previously traded price.

Thanks

2. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

Wrong question. Capital raisings are generally only offered to existing shareholders and institutions.

you should be asking can non shareholders participate in a retail capital raising? Unlikely.

3. mdk

mdk Well-Known Member

Yes, however you must already own the shares who are doing the capital raising at the time of announcement. Eg, I don't own NAB share directly (do own them via an ETF and some LIC's I own) so I cannot participate in it. I have a friend who holds them directly, so he can decide if he wants to or not.

Typically you can buy in amounts of $1000, $2500, $5000, $10,000 up to $30,000.

4. Jmillar

Jmillar Well-Known Member

Thanks. And how do you do it?

For eg I own NAB shares.

5. mdk

mdk Well-Known Member

Eligible shareholders will be sent out a share purchase plan (SPP) booklet/email. If you decide to participate you'll bPay one of the amounts on offer within the offer window. There's no brokerage. In the following month or so, you're new shares will be allocated.

All details will in the the SPP they send you.

6. Fargo

Fargo Well-Known Member