Can I Withdraw Equity?

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by TrainWreck, 23rd Oct, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. TrainWreck

TrainWreck Member

Hi Guys and Girls,

I'm new to the world of property investing and looking for some advise on my rather unusual situation.

My wife and I purchased our PPOR around 18months ago for $455k. At the time, we borrowed around 95% and took out the loan in my wifes name only with her father as a guarantor to avoid paying LMI. We went with commbank as that is who the father in law was with and it made the guarantor process alot easier.

The loan is currently split into 2 loans, around 70k secured against the guarantors home and $350k remainder on the other giving a total debt of around $420k. Given comparable sales in the area recently ranging from $500-$600k I believe we could realistically get a valuation done at $500k putting our overall LVR at 84%.

I would like to know If we are in a position to withdraw any equity to use as a deposit towards our first IP. I currently work fulltime as an Engineer on around 67k gross and my partner casual on around 25k to give an idea on serviceability.

Cheers.

2. tobe

tobe Well-Known Member

If the val comes in, then you need to borrow more than 84% to get extra equity. Which will costs lmi, unless you keep the guarantee. Keeping the guarantee is problematic though. The cba won't be falling over themselves to approve another guarantee loan. I'd look at removing the guarantee and if you want to borrow more then go to 90% on the new val and pay lmi.

3. Colin Rice

Colin Rice Mortgage Broker Business Member

Yep, best to remove guarantee first and access any available equity if the val report supports it.

If you dont remove the guarantor the CBA will likely insist on the guarantor having an intrest in the IP purchase as there is no "commercial benifit" otherwise.

4. Terry_w