Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community

Can I ask the tenant to replace the cook top and I reimburse them?

Discussion in 'Property Management' started by sumterrence, 23rd Jun, 2015.

  1. sumterrence

    sumterrence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    19th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    172
    Location:
    Sydney
    Hi Guys,

    So my tenant ask me to replace their cook top as two out of four of the cook tops are not working, fair enough, I've ask my PM to give me a quote how much to fix it and the quote come back at $700 to replace the cook top with CHEF EHC617S.

    Did a quick online search and I can easily get one of these for $365 delivered, from my experience this is just a plug and play cook top and I can't justify why I need to pay $700 for it.

    http://www.aus-appliances.com.au/chef-ehc617s-60cm-electric-cooktop.html?gclid=CjwKEAjw5J6sBRDp3ty_17KZyWsSJABgp-OakctDahL6QEKr47L00nWcswJr-mWtU44HidR0TKc5vxoCLPbw_wcB

    What would you guys do?
     
  2. DaveM

    DaveM Adelaide Buyers Agent & KFC Strategist Business Member

    Joined:
    14th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    Sydney & Adelaide
    Its hard wired and so will need an electrician to install.
     
  3. Mumbai

    Mumbai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    763
    Location:
    Sydney
    Plug and play, but you might need compatible drivers though, which is very costly ;)

    jokes apart, why dont you use the same mob (aus-appliances) as they are charging $175 for installation? Any other electrician will charge as much. $700 is overkill, but as DaveM pointed out, you will need an electrician to install it.
     
  4. bob shovel

    bob shovel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    5,383
    Location:
    Somewhere in the land of Oz
    do you trust the tenant?
    if i was your tenant i'd do it but would some form of payment, deducted week rent or a couple of cases dropped off with the cooktop.
    it will be tax deductable so sometimes not worth it to save a hundred buckeroos.
     
  5. sumterrence

    sumterrence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    19th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    172
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thanks for the responds guys, so roughly I'll be looking at $365 + $175 in total? anyone of you have a recommended electrician in QLD that I can give them a call? Cheers guys :)
     
  6. Mumbai

    Mumbai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    763
    Location:
    Sydney
    Aus-appliances only do free shipping and $175 install in Sydney.
    Where in QLD?
     
  7. sumterrence

    sumterrence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    19th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    172
    Location:
    Sydney
    Hi Mumbai, the property is in Collingwood Park
     
  8. Perp

    Perp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    455
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Never allow a non-electrician to do a job that requires one, even if you trust that they know what they're doing. If they screw it up, and your house burns down, your insurance will be invalid. :eek:
     
  9. Mumbai

    Mumbai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    763
    Location:
    Sydney
    I got mine installed at my rochedale south IP by this guy:
    Vijay Anand- VJ's Electrical & AV Solutions
    E: info@vjselectrical.com.au
    P: 0411 488 044 | F: 07 3411 0280
    A: 20 Durama Street, Rochedale South QLD 4123
    W: www.vjselectrical.com.au


    Not sure, if they service collingwood park.
     
  10. sumterrence

    sumterrence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    19th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    172
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thanks Mate :)
     
  11. rhinsor

    rhinsor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    439
    Location:
    Perth
    I purchase one of the 6 burner types end of last year. They do not come with cabling, usually have to be hard wired. I had an electrician add the cable and plug as the old one has a power point with it's own circuit breaker.

    Make sure you get the right size replacement otherwise you'll need to cut the bench top or fill it in.