QLD Cairns Unit - Potential to be positively geared?

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Chatto, 10th Dec, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Chatto

Chatto New Member

Hi All, I'm just starting out on this property investing journey but I recently went to Cairns, QLD for work and noticed the price of 2 bedroom units was quite affordable (for me anyway) compared to what I've been looking at in the greater melbourne area.

I'd like to get the collective knowledge of this forum on if this unit is a good deal:

Cairns Unit Listing - $115k

I inspected it while I was up there and it needs a good clean, bit of paint and to kick the current tenant out as he's made the place stink of smoke. It's currently rented for $190 per week but after talking with the agent who looks after it, she said the unit 2 doors down in the same block, which is the same layout/size, is rented for $270 per week! Only difference is its clean and doesn't stink of smoke.

So ~$4k for a clean, paint, smoke free furniture and a months missed rent.

Costs:
    Loan Repayments $432.00
    Water $23.19
    Body Corp $210.67
    Rates $203.08
    Rental Management $93.60
    Total Monthly Costs $962.55
    Rental Income $1,170.00
    Profit (Monthly) +$207.46
    Profit (Yearly) +$2,489.46

I know Cairns isn't high flying like Melb/Syd but its rental yield is pretty good with very low vacancy rates and values seem to be static for a while now. This is just one of them, there are others like this.

So my simple question is... is this a good buy and hold property as I do have a long 5-7 year investment timeframe?

2. Marg4000

Marg4000 Well-Known Member

In real estate considerations, 5-7 years is NOT a long time frame.
    Marg

3. Chatto

Chatto New Member

Really? What would be a long time frame given the way the market has gone the last few years?

4. Marg4000

Marg4000 Well-Known Member

A long time frame would be at least 10-15 years. Or more.