Buying private sale Victoria process

Discussion in 'The Buying & Selling Process' started by couq, 8th May, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. couq

couq Well-Known Member

I am quite new to the buying process.

I have found that at times I have offered a unconditional contract that some agents will hold the contract for 24 hours before they present to vendor. In this process they call all other interested parties to start a private sale auction like process.

Is this quite normal as I don't like getting into a bidding war. Are there ways around this for quick sale. I know a sunset clause of 24 hours or 5pm that same day is possible.

2. Simon Moore

Simon Moore Residential & Commercial Mortgage Broker Business Member

Level 2 287 Collins St Melbourne VIC 3000
    I think you answered your own question ;) You could even make an offer that morning that expires 12 pm. Always have a solicitor/conveyancer look over the contract to ensure you have the correct clauses/conditions.

Last edited: 9th May, 2017
    KateAshmor likes this.
  3. The Y-man

The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

Pretty normal. If you have offered unconditional, 99 times out of 100 no worries - I have rarely had a genuine unconditional come up against me in the time frame.

They will usually present to the vendor straight away - and any vendor in their right minds should ask the agent "can you call all the others who expressed an interest please before I sign this?"

ALWAYS put yourself in the vendors shoes (unless they are barefoot....)

The Y-man

Gypsyblood and couq like this.
  4. KateAshmor

KateAshmor Victorian Conveyancing Lawyer Business Member