VIC Buying in Seddon/Yarraville

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by james_1983, 19th Jan, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. james_1983

james_1983 Member

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the forum and considering buying in the inner west of Melbourne. I've narrowed my search down to Seddon and Yarraville as they appear to be the "bluechip" inner west suburbs, closest to the CBD.

I am only looking at apartments given my budget. I understand that apartments are generally over supplied but given there's limited land in Seddon/Yarraville and minimal high rise developments taking place I'm not concerned about over supply. I also prefer older style apartments given the high land ratio and fewer units within the block (not to mention OC fees!).

As I'm new to investing I am keen to get your thoughts on a couple of apartments that I think might be worthy of considering. Hopefully I'm on the right track!

In terms of strategy it will be a buy and hold. As I'm interstate I want a set and forget propostion. Growth is more imprtant than cashflow.

12/117 Albert Street, Seddon, Vic 3011 - Property Details

9/51 Stephen Street Yarraville Vic 3013 - Apartment for Sale #124335942 - realestate.com.au

4/248 Gordon Street Footscray Vic 3011 - Unit for Sale #124455582 - realestate.com.au

The last link is Footscray so not as preferable but it looks like a low maintenance proposition. Preferred option is the Seddon one but keen to hear from the experts.

Many thanks for your responses.

2. james_1983

james_1983 Member

3. Ouchmyknees

Ouchmyknees Well-Known Member