Buying from Father in law, pension problems and solutions

Discussion in 'Legal Issues' started by Shane P, 11th Apr, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Shane P

Shane P Member

Hi, first time here as i am new to this whole property purchasing business but have been forced into it now unfortunately, but have some complex issues to deal with in terms of my father in laws pension.

Story is he purchased the house for my wife 17 years ago under the assumption she would pay back the mortgage and he would not be responsible as a landlord for repairs etc. We have lived in the house for the last 17 years and put a lot of our own money into renovations etc, including borrowing more money on the house via my father in law to do renos. He did not consider at the time when he retires this year it will affect his pension as it is an asset for the asset test. Nor did we.

So he has freaked out and now told us we have to buy the house off him thinking this would save him and was happy to sell for remaining mortgage of $84k plus fees.

Of course, centrelink have now told him, nope... thats gifting and you will still be assessed on the 340k value.. so still loses same amount of pension.

My question is, could there be a tricky way around this by me paying him the money for mortgage, plus extra to cover the 24 k he will lose in his pension over the 5 years, but then he gifts us that back as a gift of 6k per year over 5 years that we then use to pay him some money each month to cover his lost pension.

Sorry if this sounds way too simple i am very naive when it comes to these things- just spit balling some ways around paying back that lost money to him but him somehow giving at least a portion back without affect to his pension.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions- and yes i know "Go see an accountant", we are in the process of doing this, i just wanted as many opinions as possible.

Shane

2. Paul@PAS