Buying Deceased Estate - Pros, Cons and Gotchas

Discussion in 'What to buy' started by Shawn Donaldson, 17th Mar, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Shawn Donaldson

Shawn Donaldson Active Member

Hi Guys,
    I'm new to investing and to this forum. I had a bit of a search but surprisingly couldn't find the topic I was looking for...
    Anyway, among other strategies I am looking at off-market. In some of the things I've been reading it talks about deceased estates being a good strategy and I hadn't really given it much though, opting for a simpler solution to start with. However, today while I was getting a list of owners for potential deals, I came across deceased estates, it got me thinking;
    1. What are the pros and cons in purchasing deceased estates for investment?
    2. What are the gotchas and dangers to be aware of?
    3. How would you recommend best approaching the executors of the estate? For other properties, I'm sending a friendly personal-styled letter. Should I vary this approach?
    4. Have any of you used this strategy and how did it pan out for you? Would you use it again?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!!
    Shawn.

2. albanga

albanga Well-Known Member

The gotchas are definitely the ghosts of people who passed away in the house. Up all night and can't ever get them to leave or pay rent.

Kapot, Redom, adam duckworth and 9 others like this.
  3. mikey7

mikey7 Well-Known Member

Did the person die in the house? Theres another thread somewhere that suggests a lot of people wouldn't buy, rent or live in a house someone has died in (knowingly).

highlighter likes this.
  4. Perthguy

Perthguy Well-Known Member

Pros:
    - price
    - potential for renovation
    - potential for development

Cons:
    - competition with other buyers who have the same idea as you do

Illegal mods done by the owner is the only danger I have come across.