Buying at Auction

Discussion in 'The Buying & Selling Process' started by Koalalui, 30th Jul, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Koalalui

Koalalui Active Member

I have zero experience in buying at Auction, just wondering why a mortgage broker would need to know the highest price that a purchaser is willing to pay before auction and complete the contract with purchases name and price (go with a highest price) and let the bank assess on the application?

I am not quite comfortable to disclose the highest price before auction. Wondering if there's mortgage brokers here or anyone who has experienced this before. Is this necessary to disclose the highest price? What is the main purpose here?

What happens or what are the consequences if the final auction price is (1) higher or (2) lower than the price I put forward to my mortgage broker on the application?

I would really appreciated if anyone could shed some light here. Thank you heaps !

2. Brady

Brady Well-Known Member

Completely makes sense for your banker/broker to know your maximum purchase price, you want to know that you can afford that amount I would assume?

But doesn't make sense to have a contract prior, if you have a signed contract by both parties... no need for an auction?

3. thatbum

thatbum Well-Known Member

Uh, does this broker actually work for you? Or is it someone the selling agent recommended to you or something?

4. willair

willair Well-Known Member Premium Member

'IF' it's lower then it may well be passed in--and the agent's will work the bidders list till the ink is dry on the contract..
    IF it's higher and several people want the property on the day ,then you either keep your hand in the air,or walk out the door quickly as in those few minutes at a auction when it's on the market is the danger zone where people get carried away then work out what just happened ..imho..

5. Shahin_Afarin