NSW Buying an IP in Orange/Bathurst

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by H2O, 28th May, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
?

Should I buy in Bathurst ?

1. Yes

3 vote(s)
    23.1%
  2. Wait for 4 months and then re-evaluate

6 vote(s)
    46.2%
  3. No

4 vote(s)
    30.8%
  1. H2O

H2O Active Member

G'day

I am a newbie and just realized that it is a good time to get into real estate.

I am exploring to buy an IP in either Bathurst or Orange. The long term goal is to hold while having some cash flow (not into negative gearing).

Orange is very bullet proof atm as there are independent sectors investing creating jobs = demand for housing. The prices also reflect this despite C-19 impact and good ones are well over my budget.
    My Budget is ~ 380k to 400k and I can service a loan upto 85% LVR (have deposit + Stamp duty)

On the other hand, Bathurst is also doing well however more affordable to buy near the CBD or established areas. The reason can be no major investment happening (like Orange) and CSU also having issues since most foreign students are stuck/new admissions not picking up.

So after searching found on an old property (circa 1980) which is on a big block - 650+ sq mtr . However, the RE is adamant on sticking to the sale price. The rental market is doing Ok atm, some of my friends are having difficulty finding a good rental in the area despite good hospital jobs with history.

At the moment, should I let it go and wait to see if C-19 can have an impact or jump on it ? HWT property report highlights that Bathurst is at the peak.

2. Rolf Latham

Rolf Latham Inciteful (sic) Staff Member Business Plus Member

Calling Euro

ta
    rolf

hash_investor likes this.
  3. hash_investor

hash_investor Well-Known Member

could be Euro with a different name :D

4. H2O

H2O Active Member

No idea who Euro is....

5. wilso8948

wilso8948 Well-Known Member

6. euro73

euro73 Well-Known Member Business Member