NSW Buyers Brief First Home Buy...

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Ron Davis, 6th Oct, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Ron Davis

Ron Davis Member

Hi All,

I would like to ask your feedback as I am getting together a buyers brief and I am a newbie and look forward to avoid big mistakes.

I am looking to buy a PPOR in Sydney and we are a young family (with a 6 month old). We are not from Sydney and have been living in Sutherland almost 5months and with limited knowledge of many other areas in Sydney.

Which location and type of property would you choose for your PPOR and if you had a family with the following specs:
    • 650-700K max
    • Close to public transport
    • 45mins -1hr commute to CBD
    • Low-mid crime
    • Ok/good schools
    • 3 beds
    • Nice and safe place for a family to live
    • Place to live the next 10 years and probably move somewhere else (as the family grows)
    Anything else you would consider in your buyers brief? Would be good to have a beach 45mins commute too.

Look forward to your feedback/help.

Many thanks Ron

2. Blueshoes99

Blueshoes99 Well-Known Member

House is no go but you can buy a unit in Parramatta, Carlingford, Castle Hill, Rockdale, Mortdale etc

You’ve heard about the first home owners grant scheme 2020? You’ll only need 5% deposit. Google search and find the criteria’s and how to apply.

3. Ron Davis

Ron Davis Member

Was thinking in the west of sydney around the Penrith areas might still be within reach for houses?

4. Ron Davis

Ron Davis Member

And ive got a 100k deposit..

5. Blueshoes99

Blueshoes99 Well-Known Member

I think it is important for you and your partner to have a look at the below website. I’m not here to give you advice or to change your mind.

City of Penrith - Free Property Report

There is a reason why property prices are much more reasonable in some areas versus others. I’m only thinking about the safety of your family.