Business valuation multiple

Discussion in 'Starting & Running a Business' started by Codie, 7th Aug, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Codie

Codie Well-Known Member

Hi All,

Repost as other threads seem quiet.

Looking at a business right now and have signed an NDA as of today. Going through all figures etc and wanted to get some opinions on valuation multiple.

Owner wants around 1.4m
    Business is doing 2.5m in rev per annum
    2019-2020 net EBITA $360k
    2020-2021 EBITA $405k

Husband, wife, and child all drawing income with only him working in the business. Combined incomes of around $246,000 + around $55k in super contributions. They also put a couple vehicles through the business.

I could save $150k up front pretty easily.

Business is established, scalable, and I work as a supplier in the industry so know the customers, clients, and market well.

Based off 2020-2021 FY it’s a multiple of x3.5. Cutting some costs and paying myself $150k a year it would pay itself off in 3. Or draw dividends and pay it longer. Is this multiple quite normal for a business of this size??

Also, if looking to finance, financing 1.4m.. What are banks looking for in business? Is there a typical LVR they are comfortable with?

2. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

Each industry run on different multiples so your accountant would be able to point you in the right direction.

Cousinit, Beano and Codie like this.
  3. Codie

Codie Well-Known Member

Thanks Scott. I’ve had a chat to 2 accountants. And to be honest they weren’t entirely confident in the answer. I guess they don’t know the industry or exact sub category this business fits into. (Which is coating) so technically construction

is there a rule of thumb or way to work this out?

4. The Falcon

The Falcon Well-Known Member