NSW Building PPOR in Sydney at this boom

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by oldmanwalking, 5th Mar, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. oldmanwalking

oldmanwalking Member

Long post warning****

Hello forum member, id like to hear ur views on our issues. My wife and I came to australia 6 yrs ago. We’ve worked hard and bought a house which is 600k worth now where wer living In Mittagong, NSW. Thats our only property/asset in Australia. We are earning around 350-380k/annum. My wife is a doctor and I am a project manager.

We always had a dream of building a dream house. Building, because when we bought the current house, my wife liked the display home models and since then she never liked any established old/ semi old home. She also has insect phobia so she hates living in old houses/apartments. Since we moved in to this old house, renovated kitchen deck etc but from day 1 we ( specially she) feel like its a temporary home and not our dream home at all. As if we r waiting that someday we will buy a land and build a dream house (the dream floorplan my wife has in mind, open plan living and the alfresco opening into a blue swimming pool, which will be the view from glass door long lounge feature windows).

Ita been 2 yrs that she has never stopped talking about that dream house. We actually was about to buy land and build a house in 2016. Spend 6 months visiting those display homea getting quotes. At the end we decided that its not ideal to buy and build in the boom, specially in weatern or southern sydney where there is already a over flow of new houses and new plots (schofield, oran park etc).