Building a new PPOR – factoring in some elements of Adaptable Living by choice

Discussion in 'Development' started by Foxy Moron, 10th Jan, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Foxy Moron

Foxy Moron Well-Known Member

We are building our (hopefully) final home this year on our rural block. The builder I am using has been a local leader in the adaptable living space for many years, long before the advent of NDIS (stems from his personal experience of raising a severely disabled daughter). My background is that of a part-time developer but I have certainly learned a lot from our meetings with him.

We are an able-bodied couple (early 50s) but have decided to incorporate quite a few adaptable living aspects into our own new home – not because of any immediate need, nor am I chasing any aspect of government reward, but more as future-proofing a result of conversations with this impressive builder fellow. Eg it doesn’t really cost a lot more to make doors and hallways just a little bit wider than standard, when you are building from scratch. We are going for a single-level brick veneer and the site is my favourite place in the world. The idea being if something happened health-wise to one of us we won’t need to find a new home in a hurry, we can stay where we are. Also we both have aging parents living by themselves elsewhere, and we have a teenager who is showing no affinity for leaving home as a young adult, so multigenerational living is a distinct possibility for us going forward.